About our student composer program:

In 1997, the Opera Division inaugurated a workshop at the Faculty of Music to give student composers experience writing operatic scenes, following a process of composition, dramaturgy, orchestration and staged public performance. The concept proved so successful that the workshop was ultimately introduced as a formal course in composition at the Master of Music level in 2004. For over twenty years, the student composer collective of the University of Toronto's Faculty of Music has been synonymous with creativity and innovation, from the absurdist, *Rob Ford, the Opera* to this year's chilling piece of Toronto history, *Maid and Master: The Massey Murder.*

The normally staid and placid city of Toronto was thrust into the limelight on February 8, 1915, when Carrie Davies, an 18-year-old British maid shot and killed Charles Bert Massey in defence against his sexual advances. Public opinion was wildly divided at the time as the Masseys were one of the most powerful families in Canada. Basing my libretto on agreed upon facts, I imagined conversations which might have transpired before and after the cataclysmic crime. For those interested in a compelling narrative of certitude, I highly recommend *The Massey Murder* by Charlotte Gray. On the 23rd anniversary of our student composers project, we celebrate the composers listed below and the extraordinary talent they have contributed.

Eugene Artapo (2017) Ivan Barbotin (2011) Scott Brubacher (2008) Constantine Caravassilis (2009) Jason Caron (2013) Andrew James Clark (2017) Sharbel Dalal (2011) Elisha Denburg (2010) Joshua Denenberg (2015) Robert Drisdelle (2014) Keyan Emami (2014) Aaron Gervais (2005) Massimo Guida (2012) George Harris (2017) Anna Höstman (2012) Kevin Zi-Xiao He (2019) Glenn James (2008) Hanna Kim (2018) August Murphy-King (2013) Sean King (2010) Kathryn Knowles (2017)

Bence Kutrik (2010) Lan-chee Lam (2007) Kevin Lau (2007) Emilie Cecilia LeBel (2011) Yu-Ting Lin (2015) Cecilia Livingston (2010) Michael Maevskiy (2019) Riho Esko Maimets (2011) Shelley Marwood (2014) Brian McDonagh (2006) Peter McGraw (2016) Colin McMahon (2018) Kevin Mulligan (2019) Henry J. Ng (2007) Jordan O'Connor (2013) David Ogborn (2006) Stephanie Orlando (2017) Lee Parkin (2009) Paul Porito (2018) Liam Ritz (2017) Daniel Romberger (2019)

William Rowson (2007) Fiona Ryan (2008) Parisa Sabet (2013) Adam Scime (2012) Saman Shahi (2012) Laura Silberberg (2011) Bekah Simms (2014) Jason Stanford (2005) Eric R. Stewart (2010) Robert Taylor (2016) Felipe Tellez (2018) Christopher Thornborrow (2010) Joseph Trefler (2011) Aaron Tsang (2009) Roydon Tse (2015) Tyler Versluis (2015) Steven Webb (2016) Curtis Wriaht (2018) Albert Wong (2006) Tristan Zaba (2019) Kolby Zinger-Harris (2017)